A Somewhat Serious Question

Discussion in 'Religion & Politics' started by Slavoj Jizzek, May 8, 2012.

1. Slavoj Jizzek

Slavoj Jizzek
    Expand Collapse
    Girlvinyl

I'm an evil Scotsman and my name is Jock
    As a college student, I have been beaten over the head repeatedly with the fact that a lack of same-sex marriage in the US is a travesty. I always scratched my head at this. In the beginning I always pointed out that a strong majority of Americans (62%) support civil unions.

Still, gays seem to insist that this isn't good enough. Personally, I don't see a point to granting gay couples the same societal status as marriages (read, not legal rights, but general social views.) For one thing, this goes back to the fact that even the Hellenist Greeks didn't see a reason to institute gay marriage, and they ate cock sandwiches for breakfast lunch and dinner. The island of Lesbos had no "gay marriages." Also, while civil unions provide legal rights and benefits to people as specified by a person granting the rights, marriage holds a linguistic weight balanced by all previous ages.

In other words, by sheer use of the word "marriage," gays are using the legitimacy of the words "husband" and "wife" and all of the other traditional aspects without actually having to conform to them (post-structural theory of language). They draw equivalence between a biological union meant to produce offspring and a union of two adults who wish to hump with society's blessing. I don't see where these things really share common ground aside from the act of humping.

My question is, "Is there a good reason at all for gay marriage?"

2. Baya Rae 4900

Baya Rae 4900
    Expand Collapse
    Lawlman

Nazi Chocolate (25.8069)
    Home Page: